Monday, September 22, 2014


At the September, 2014 OBFS/NAML Joint Meeting, a lunch table discussion started on the topic of Art at Field Stations and Marine Labs. We continued the next day. Thanks for your interest in starting a working group on the subject!

Here is the list of participants (with more recent additions by request). Send me what you'd like posted, or I can set you up as an editor. I'd like to see everyone first create a post about the state of/thoughts about your current art program--basically, the short introductions we did at lunch, along with any photos or links you'd like to share. That will provide a good point of departure for further discussion, and a record for future reference.
From left: Reed Bertone-Johnson, Felicia Coleman.

It would be great if you would use the blog to communicate within the group, rather than e-mailing around, but you can pull individual e-mail addresses from the conference roster for private exchanges.

If you'd prefer, I'll post the actual e-mail addresses here, just let me know. Gwen Pearson will post a link to this blog on the Organization of Biological Field Stations website. I'll ask the National Association of Marine Laboratories to do the same. If you know anyone else who might be interested in this discussion, please invite them.

Group participants (* indicates looking for, or playing a more active role):

Faerthen Felix* UC Berkeley-Sagehen Creek Field Station (Group Coordinator)
Martha Apple* Department of Biological Sciences, Montana Tech of the University of Montana
Rebecca Atkins* University of Georgia
Reed Bertone-Johnson Smith College MacLeish Field Station
Jeff Brown* UC Berkeley-Sagehen Creek Field Station
Christina Catanese* Schuylkill Center
Philippe Cohen Jasper Ridge Biological Preserve - Stanford University (retired)
Felicia Coleman Florida State University Coastal and Marine Lab
Mel Dean Hawaii Experimental Tropical Forest
Bill Dennison University of Maryland
Kevin Duggan* Consultant
Paul Foster Costa Rica Bijagual Ecological Reserve
William Fox Director, Center for Art + Enviroment, NMA
Jon Garbisch Cedar Point Biological Station
Newton Harrison Center for the Study of the Force Majeure
Susan Jacobson* University of Florida
Isabelle Kay UC San Diego Reserves
Julia Klein Colorado State University
Ariane Koek International Policy Advisor and Consultant
Craig Lukatch Lacawac Sanctuary & Field Station
Nancy Lowe
Judy Lemus Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology
Mary Beth Leigh University of Alaska-Fairbanks
Claudia Luke Sonoma State University Field Stations and Nature Preserves
Art McKee Yellowstone Ecological Research Center
Michael Nelson H.J. Andrews Experimental Forest
Erika Osborne Colorado State University
Sarah Oktay University of Massachusetts-Boston Nantucket Field Station
Kristin Pasquino* Northern Forest Institute - State University of New York
Marianne Patinelli-Dubay* Northern Forest Institute - State University of New York
Gwen Pearson
Mel Preston Point Blue Conservation Science
Jane Rosett Marine Biological Laboratory, Wood's Hole
Lindsey Rustad Hubbard Brook Experimental Forest
Leslie Ryan H.J. Andrews Experimental Forest
Jerry Schubel Aquarium of the Pacific
Mark Schulze H.J. Andrews Experimental Forest
Fred Swanson* H.J. Andrews Experimental Forest
Sam Wisely* University of Florida Ordway Swisher Biological Station
Kathleen Wong UC Natural Reserve System

From left: Reed Bertone-Johnson, Mark Schulze, Isabelle
Kay, Jeff Brown, Judy Lemus.
From left: Judy Lemus, Jane Rosett, Jon Garbisch, Bill

No comments:

Post a Comment